Clinical team

If you would like to contact any of the individuals listed below, please contact the JAG office by email at

You can also read about the JAG office team here.

Dr Mark Coleman

Chair of JAG

Mark has been a colorectal surgeon in Plymouth since 2001. He led Lapco, the national training programme for laparoscopic colorectal surgery in England, transforming the uptake of this procedure nationally and internationally. He is founder and chair of Bowel Cancer West which supports training, research and awareness across south-west England and Wales. He chaired the external affairs committee at the Association of Coloproctology (ACP) from 2011-2016 where he led the redevelopment of the ACP website and the creation of a YouTube channel for the journal Colorectal Diseases.

Dr Mark Jarvis

Chair of JAG accreditation

Mark trained at Oxford University and Imperial College London, gaining the Rudolph Kohnstamm prize for clinical medicine before qualifying in 1999. Based mainly in England he has also worked in Glasgow and in New Zealand. He accepted his current post as a Consultant Gastroenterologist in Basildon, Essex in 2013. Mark has a passion for clinical quality in endoscopy. He became a JAG assessor in 2019 and Chair of JAG accreditation in 2022.

Miss Sarah Mills

Chair of JAG training

Sarah is a Consultant Colorectal Surgeon at Chelsea and Westminster Hospital and Chair of ACPGBI Colonoscopy Committee. She is passionate about improving access to and quality of endoscopy training in the UK

Debbie Johnston

Head assessor for accreditation

Debbie is the head assessor, providing expert leadership to over 30 assessors, ensuring consistent application of the JAG standards, and assessments of the highest possible quality. She has over 30 years’ experience in healthcare in nursing, managerial, quality improvement and quality assurance roles, and has played a key role in the development of JAG accreditation since its establishment in 1994.

Photo of Debbie Johnston

 Sarah Marshall 

JAG Nurse Lead

Sarah has a wide range of experience from medical assessment wards, A&E, ITU and as a resuscitation officer. She has been involved in endoscopy for almost 20 years working as an endoscopy nurse and senior sister before setting up the bowel cancer screening centre at St. Mark’s Hospital in 2006. She is the clinical programme manager and oversees the operational and clinical management in the screening centre for North West London whilst remaining engaged as an SSP too. She has been part of the BSG nursing committee since 2019.


Richard Robinson

Chair of bowel cancer screening programme (BCSP) accreditation panel

Richard is the chair of the BCSP accreditation panel, having been a bowel cancer screening colonoscopist for over 10 years. He has a long-standing interest in endoscopy training and assessment having established Leicester as a JAG training centre in 2004 and more recently as an accreditation centre for both BowelScope and bowel cancer screening. He is clinical director of the University of Leicester Hospitals bowel cancer screening service. In 2014, he established the Ghana Endoscopy Project and with colleagues has regularly taught training the trainer colonoscopy courses and basic endoscopic skills courses in Ghana.

Professor Matt Rutter

Chair of the National Endoscopy Database (NED) working group

Matt is professor of gastroenterology at Durham University, specialising in advanced diagnostic colonoscopy, polypectomy and IBD.

Photo of Matt Rutter

Phedra Dodds

JETS Workforce lead

Phedra has been chair of the Welsh Endoscopy Nurse Training faculty since 2015 and has focused on quality improvement as part of the national endoscopy team where she was lead nurse from 2002-2015. Phedra is responsible for providing leadership and direction for JETS Workforce and leads on the implementation of competency framework and training packages.

Please read carefully and take any action requested - this message will not be shown the next time you log in